This forum is closed for posting. Please, join us in our Discord server at discord.gg/regnum. See you there!

Go Back   Champions of Regnum > English > Technical Support > Linux

Linux Technical issues under Linux platform

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2015, 05:41 PM   #1
Elsworth
Pledge
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 13
Elsworth is on a distinguished road
Default 64bit libraries needed to launch the game

Hi all!

I have a problem with launchig the game. After game installation from ROInstall_64 I run ./rolauncher. Blank window appear for a second or two and dissapears. It looks like some libraries are missing. In terminal information appears "Segfault (memory dump)".
As an attachment you will find stace command standard output as well as ldd command standard output. maybe someone will help me to fiqure out what is missing.


Best regards,

Elsworth

P.S.
Linux syetem: Fedora 21 64bit

P.S. 2
I checked CRC for ROInstall_64 file.
md5sum ROInstall_64 gives 2c29a8863003fc5f7f71277e9c47955f
Attached Files
File Type: zip ldd.zip (1.5 KB, 4 views)
File Type: zip strace.zip (45.2 KB, 9 views)

Last edited by _Elsworth_; 01-03-2015 at 06:05 PM.
Elsworth no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 06:09 PM   #2
TurboLover
Apprentice
 
TurboLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 69
TurboLover is on a distinguished road
Default

Libs look fine to me. Can you upload a backtrace?
__________________
Syrtis: turbolover (56) - Alturian Conjurer | Leather Rebel (51) - Lamai Warlock
Elite of Syrtis
TurboLover no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 06:38 PM   #3
Elsworth
Pledge
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 13
Elsworth is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboLover View Post
Libs look fine to me. Can you upload a backtrace?
What do you mean? To run gdb or other stack trace program?

P.S.
I run gdb ./rolauncher

Code:
[mkaczmarek_01@zx149f regnum]$ gdb ./rolauncher
GNU gdb (GDB) Fedora 7.8.1-36.fc21
Copyright (C) 2014 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "x86_64-redhat-linux-gnu".
Type "show configuration" for configuration details.
For bug reporting instructions, please see:
<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/bugs/>.
Find the GDB manual and other documentation resources online at:
<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/documentation/>.
For help, type "help".
Type "apropos word" to search for commands related to "word"...
Reading symbols from ./rolauncher...(no debugging symbols found)...done.
(gdb)

Last edited by _Elsworth_; 01-03-2015 at 06:48 PM.
Elsworth no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 07:21 PM   #4
-Mongoose-
Pledge
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 23
-Mongoose- is on a distinguished road
Default

Looking at the strace, it's crashing when seeking file descriptor 11, which maps to /usr/share/themes/Adwaita/gtk-2.0/Others/null.png.

This is similar to issues that others have had.


See this post for Enio's work around:
http://www.championsofregnum.com/for...1&postcount=46

Alternately, switch gtk themes.
http://www.championsofregnum.com/for...4&postcount=32

See that thread for additional details/solutions.
http://www.championsofregnum.com/for...d.php?t=100997
-Mongoose- no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 10:03 PM   #5
Elsworth
Pledge
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 13
Elsworth is on a distinguished road
Default

-Mongoose- thanks for links.

I created .themes/Adwaita/gtk-2.0 folder in home directory and placed there empty gtkrc file.
Now it looks like game have a chance to run, however without activation code cannot confirm that.
As soon as I activate Linux host than will update this thread.

For now, thanks all for your help.


Elsworth
Elsworth no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 11:53 PM   #6
Evangeline
Master
 
Evangeline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wonderland
Posts: 308
Evangeline is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

try
Code:
$cd "path/to/regnum/live/"
$ldd game
edit: woops nvm you did try it

edit2: wow this is interesting i use fedora 21 too (started recently) and my rolauncher segfaults too hadnt noticed since i don't really use it :P
__________________
Evangeline

Last edited by Evangeline; 01-04-2015 at 12:03 AM.
Evangeline no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 02:11 PM   #7
Tigerious
Banned
 
Tigerious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: France
Posts: 496
Tigerious is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

People always forgot there is _logs in <path to regnum>/live/

Maybe more useful infos there?


Regards.
Tigerious no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 07:28 PM   #8
Elsworth
Pledge
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 13
Elsworth is on a distinguished road
Default Success!!!

Hi!

At last I successfully run CoR under Fedora 21. As I wrote above I had to create .themes/Adwaita/gtk-2.0 folder in home directory and placed there empty gtkrc file.
This folder is necessary to bypass segfault created by Adwaita theme. Do not know if this problem exist with other themes - maybe does or maybe does not.

The second problem I faced was Nvidia propretiary drivers problem installation. Without those drivers I could not run the game (it did not want launch on neuveau driver)
I used RPMFusion repository for previous Fedora distributions. For F21 I use negativo17 repository (can be found here).

Now I am thinking about shell script which will automatically copy .themes/Adwaita/gtk-2.0 folder into home directory, will launch the game and will delete copied files (just for nice looking of context menus ). If you will have any examples please place code hereafter.

Cya all in game!
Elsworth no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 08:34 PM   #9
-Mongoose-
Pledge
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 23
-Mongoose- is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Elsworth_ View Post
Now I am thinking about shell script which will automatically copy .themes/Adwaita/gtk-2.0 folder into home directory, will launch the game and will delete copied files (just for nice looking of context menus ). If you will have any examples please place code hereafter.

Cya all in game!

Enio has a script that seems to do what you want.
Code:
[enio@archdesk regnum]$ cat start.sh 
#!/bin/bash

mv /home/enio/.themes/Adwaita/gtk-2.0/gtkrc_ /home/enio/.themes/Adwaita/gtk-2.0/gtkrc;  \
/home/enio/regnum/rolauncher ; \
mv /home/enio/.themes/Adwaita/gtk-2.0/gtkrc /home/enio/.themes/Adwaita/gtk-2.0/gtkrc_
Taken from:
http://www.championsofregnum.com/for...1&postcount=46
-Mongoose- no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 10:01 PM   #10
Elsworth
Pledge
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 13
Elsworth is on a distinguished road
Default Copy/Remove

Hi!

Thanks -Monogoose-. I have a problem with eth0 raise after reboot (it tells that eth0 is connecting), so did not had a chance to edit my post before you post your comment.
Below you will find my way to launch the game, however there is one thing that still puzzle me.

Code:
#!/bin/bash

cp -R $HOME/Gry/.themes $HOME/.themes;  \
$HOME/Gry/regnum/rolauncher; \
rm-rf $HOME/.themes
Above code runs well (maybe sleep 100 is too long) when I run it from terminal. I linked CoR_launcher.sh (this is the name of the file containing above code) to the regnum-program.desktop to be able to launch the game just by clicking on the icon. And there is the problem - shell script do not work. Below is the content of regnum-program.desktop.

Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
Type=Application
Name=Champions of Regnum
Exec=/home/mkaczmarek_01/Gry/regnum/CoR_launcher.sh
OnlyShowIn=Old;
I changed rolauncher to CoR_launcher.sh

Have to find out how to fix it, or maybe you have some idea what to do?


Cya in game!

Edit 1
Wander if I can replace /home/mkaczmarek_01 by $HOME in the regnum-program.desktop file.

Cya

Edit 2 (2015.01.26)
regnum-program.desktop + shell script launcher works well. I initially changed mentioned regnum-program.desktop file in $HOME/.gnome/apps folder and than in $HOME/.local/share/applications folder - in both cases without success. At last I found that the gnome shell uses regnum-program.desktop launcher from $HOME/Desktop folder. After linking shell script to .desktpo file, clicking on it or calling the name in gnome shell ends in proper game launch.

Cya in game!

Last edited by _Elsworth_; 01-26-2015 at 10:25 PM.
Elsworth no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
NGD Studios 2002-2016 © All rights reserved