This forum is closed for posting. Please, join us in our Discord server at discord.gg/regnum. See you there!

Go Back   Champions of Regnum > English > Technical Support > Linux

Linux Technical issues under Linux platform

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2011, 09:01 PM   #21
Cuchulainn
Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 303
Cuchulainn is on a distinguished road
Default

to know more about the fstab configuration file you can read here (the Arch Linux wiki is pretty interesting for such things).

instead of /dev/sda3 you can also put in the UUID number of the swap partition. You can find out the UUID number of your swap with "blkid" command. But don't ask me if this has advantages.

with the blkid command you can see the path of the device, the UUID and the partition type e.g. swap.
Cuchulainn no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 09:32 PM   #22
hawk0xad9
Pledge
 
hawk0xad9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 41
hawk0xad9 is on a distinguished road
Default

K, let's move back a bit. First, start with this (you'll need to use sudo or su for the examples that have root@laptop):

Code:
[root@laptop:~]# fdisk -l                                                                                                         
                                                                                                                                     
Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes                                                                                          
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders, total 976773168 sectors                                                                
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes                                                                                               
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes                                                                                
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes                                                                                    
Disk identifier: 0x000d4297                                                                                                          
                                                                                                                                     
   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System                                                                       
/dev/sda1              63   157292414    78646176    5  Extended                                                                     
/dev/sda2   *   157292415   576717434   209712510    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT                                                              
/dev/sda3       576717435   976768064   200025315    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT                                                              
/dev/sda5             126   115346699    57673287   83  Linux                                                                        
/dev/sda6       115346763   153099449    18876343+  83  Linux                                                                        
/dev/sda7       153099513   157292414     2096451   82  Linux swap / Solaris                                                         
                                                                                                                                     
Disk /dev/sdb: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes                                                                                          
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders, total 976773168 sectors                                                                
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes                                                                                               
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes                                                                                
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes                                                                                    
Disk identifier: 0x00062463                                                                                                          
                                                                                                                                     
   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System                                                                       
/dev/sdb1              63   734009849   367004893+   5  Extended                                                                     
/dev/sdb2       734009850   976768064   121379107+   7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT                                                              
/dev/sdb5             126   734009849   367004862   83  Linux
Here you can see a bunch of partitions. The one we want is the one that is Linux swap / Solaris, indicated in red. Make a note of what device it is (/dev/sda7 in this example), and run this:

Code:
[root@laptop:~]# swapon -v /dev/sda7                                                                                             
swapon on /dev/sda7                                                                                                                  
swapon: /dev/sda7: found swap signature: version 1, page-size 4, same byte order                                                     
swapon: /dev/sda7: pagesize=4096, swapsize=2146762752, devsize=2146765824
Output should be similar (the -v argument gives a more verbose output). It looks like it turned the swap on successfully, let's check to be sure (these don't need su/sudo permissions):

Code:
[user@laptop:~]$ swapon -s
Filename                                Type            Size    Used    Priority
/dev/sda7                               partition       2096444 0       -1
[user@laptop:~]$ free -m
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          7981       1853       6128          0         98        596
-/+ buffers/cache:       1158       6823
Swap:         2047          0       2047
If something like this shows up, your swap was turned on successfully. Let's at least try to get this working first before we handle /etc/fstab.

EDIT: *One other thing... if you don't actually have a swap partition, let me know. It would probably be easier to make a swap file in that scenario.
hawk0xad9 no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 09:46 PM   #23
Aries202
Banned
 
Aries202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 569
Aries202 is on a distinguished road
Default

total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 748 608 139 0 15 176
-/+ buffers/cache: 416 331
Swap: 0 0 0


This is what happens when I do the "free -m" command, doesn't seem like I have one placed.

PS: I don't know how to post the log from the terminal.
Aries202 no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 09:50 PM   #24
hawk0xad9
Pledge
 
hawk0xad9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 41
hawk0xad9 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aries202 View Post
PS: I don't know how to post the log from the terminal.
Select and press Ctrl+Shift+C (this won't work on xterm though if you use that).

EDIT: Also, could you say what distro and desktop environment you use? That way I can give you advice that could be more specific to it.
hawk0xad9 no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 10:09 PM   #25
Aries202
Banned
 
Aries202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 569
Aries202 is on a distinguished road
Default

Not sure how to tell, but Gmone Kernel Linux.... hope that's what you're looking for.
Aries202 no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 10:28 PM   #26
Tigerious
Banned
 
Tigerious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: France
Posts: 496
Tigerious is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

What are you trying to do, it is regnum online game forum, not Linux users one.
Everyone that using Linux must know what is a swap...
Sorry to be rude but there is enough documentation on internet about it.
Tigerious no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 10:35 PM   #27
Aries202
Banned
 
Aries202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 569
Aries202 is on a distinguished road
Default

Too bad this is the Technical Support Linux section. By the way, I'm still new to Linux, but I guess that could never be a factor.. being new to something. I am having a problem that doesn't allow me to run Regnum, so I think it is suitable to ask here.
Aries202 no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 10:39 PM   #28
hawk0xad9
Pledge
 
hawk0xad9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 41
hawk0xad9 is on a distinguished road
Default

Could you post the output of the commands I posted before (print screens are fine if you can't copy+paste)?
hawk0xad9 no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 10:42 PM   #29
HidraA
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 843
HidraA is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigerious View Post
What are you trying to do, it is regnum online game forum, not Linux users one.
Everyone that using Linux must know what is a swap...
Sorry to be rude but there is enough documentation on internet about it.
Tigerr...this support section.....so he can ask what he want.If ppl there are ppl that can help no problem with this.
Anyway i had compputer freez but was not related to swap partition.
Try to run from terminal the game...when cpu look like he is frozen press ctrl+alt+F1 or F2Tel me if switch TTY or he stay frozen.
If he switch then your are able to login send command killall to rolauncher.
HidraA no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 10:54 PM   #30
Aries202
Banned
 
Aries202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 569
Aries202 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk0xad9 View Post
Could you post the output of the commands I posted before (print screens are fine if you can't copy+paste)?
I used a link to help me out http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/linux-a...ap-file-howto/ Great news is, I set it up, but I can't save it in the fstab file.

Game worked successfully, but I still need to save it, so it's stacked there everytime I log on. It gives me an error when I try the website's command.
Aries202 no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
NGD Studios 2002-2016 © All rights reserved