Go Back   Champions of Regnum > English > Technical Support > Linux

Linux Technical issues under Linux platform

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2016, 07:05 PM   #11
Adrian
NGD·Studios
 
Adrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wien, Österreich
Posts: 2,760
Adrian will become famous soon enoughAdrian will become famous soon enough
Default

Have you tried installing the library?

Code:
sudo apt-get install libjpeg62
__________________
Adrian no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 07:42 PM   #12
Lebeau
Banned
 
Lebeau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: 'B-F-Egypt', Virginia, U.S.A. (please pity & forgive us poor american fools!).
Posts: 605
Lebeau is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian View Post
Have you tried installing the library?

Code:
sudo apt-get install libjpeg62
Yes, I did, but thanks (sorry, I'm bad with the post-posted edits):

"...Others in unrelated app installations also suffer a lack of "libjpeg62", tho not sure why. I then installed it. I ran native-RO (the one that wouldn't do ANYthing before) in a terminal..."

-Adrian, is it normal for the linux-native version of RO to look for STEAM? It cannot find it of course. It's not there to find.
Lebeau no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 07:58 PM   #13
_Enio_
Marquis
 
_Enio_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,843
_Enio_ will become famous soon enough
Default

This is very odd. Does the user you log in to ro decide if it has to run with steam?

Also, just out of curiosity, can you confirm that that libjpeg.so.62 is infact located in /home/adm/regnim folder?

Very sorry for your issues, hope we get it nailed somehow. Why it is asking for steam when steam isnt even launcching it is beyond my knowledge..
__________________
Fix the Marksman subclass: Suggestion
_Enio_ no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 08:19 PM   #14
Lebeau
Banned
 
Lebeau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: 'B-F-Egypt', Virginia, U.S.A. (please pity & forgive us poor american fools!).
Posts: 605
Lebeau is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Enio_ View Post
...Also, just out of curiosity, can you confirm that that libjpeg.so.62 is infact located in /home/adm/regnim folder?...
Is it supposed to be in home/admn/regnum/live/libs? If so, then it is NOT. NO libs at all in the "libs" folder there. Tried cntl-h & find nothing hidden, so...
Lebeau no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 09:31 PM   #15
schachteana
Master
 
schachteana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 421
schachteana is on a distinguished road
Default

I could actually confirm OPs issue:
Code:
./rolauncher: error while loading shared libraries: libjpeg.so.62: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
(I freshly upgraded to ubuntu 16.06 yesterday, some packages were uninstalled)

But after installing libjpeg again (see adrians post), everything worked properly again.

(Note: There are NO lib files whatsoever in the live folder. And the lib folder is totally empty. All the libs which can be found in a windows installation seem to be encapsulated within the binaries)
schachteana no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 09:29 PM   #16
_Enio_
Marquis
 
_Enio_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,843
_Enio_ will become famous soon enough
Default

I did some debugging with Lebeau (kudos to your patience!)

Sadly, its way beyond library stuff. In the recently compiled game binaries, the CPU instructions LAHF/SAHF are used that is not compatible with some of the older 64Bit CPU

The "bt" on the crash:
Code:
Program received signal SIGILL, Illegal instruction.
0x00000000011966ba in ?? ()
(gdb) bt
#0  0x00000000011966ba in ?? ()
#1  0x000000000117cd20 in lua_pcall ()
#2  0x0000000000718e3e in lua_action::operator()(ActionableObject*, Message*)
    ()
#3  0x0000000000816c41 in ActionableObject::run_action(Message*, ActionData*, char const*, int) ()
#4  0x0000000000810234 in ActionableObject::receive_action(Message*) ()
#5  0x0000000000961789 in Entity::input_message_internal(Message*) ()
#6  0x000000000096657d in LuaEntity::input_message_internal(Message*) ()
#7  0x000000000097235f in ProxyEntity::receive_message_callback(Message*) ()
#8  0x0000000000961194 in Entity::input_message_internal(Message*) ()
#9  0x000000000093ee7a in EntityMessageQueue::process_a_message(Message*) ()
#10 0x0000000000941621 in EntityMessageQueue::process_messages() ()
#11 0x000000000093b0be in EntitySystem::poll_frame() ()
#12 0x000000000064f84b in GameClient::iterate() ()
#13 0x000000000072581d in MainLoop::iterate() ()
#14 0x0000000000645e38 in main ()


With the instruction creating the SIGILL:
Code:
(gdb) x/i $pc => 0x11966ba: sahf
/proc/cpuinfo reveals in the flags that lahf isnt supported
Code:
flags        :  fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36  clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm  constant_tsc pebs bts nopl pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl cid cx16 xtpr


specifically missing the flag
Code:
lahf_lm: Load AH from Flags (LAHF) and Store AH into Flags (SAHF) in long mode


Questions:

* Did something on the compile flags change / or the compiler version change in one of the recent releases?
* Can this be fixed on NGDs end?

__________________
Fix the Marksman subclass: Suggestion
_Enio_ no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 09:34 PM   #17
Adrian
NGD·Studios
 
Adrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wien, Österreich
Posts: 2,760
Adrian will become famous soon enoughAdrian will become famous soon enough
Default

Thank you Enio, that was some great debugging. Of course it can be flagged.

Lebeau, which processor do you have? Please give us as much detail as you can.
__________________
Adrian no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 09:54 PM   #18
Lebeau
Banned
 
Lebeau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: 'B-F-Egypt', Virginia, U.S.A. (please pity & forgive us poor american fools!).
Posts: 605
Lebeau is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian View Post
Thank you Enio, that was some great debugging. Of course it can be flagged.

Lebeau, which processor do you have? Please give us as much detail as you can.
... :~$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz
stepping : 4
microcode : 0x6
cpu MHz : 2793.097
cache size : 1024 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 0
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 0
initial apicid : 0
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc pebs bts nopl pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl cid cx16 xtpr
bogomips : 5586.19
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 128
address sizes : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

processor : 1
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz
stepping : 4
microcode : 0x6
cpu MHz : 2793.097
cache size : 1024 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 1
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 1
initial apicid : 1
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc pebs bts nopl pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl cid cx16 xtpr
bogomips : 5586.19
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 128
address sizes : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:
Lebeau no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 01:23 AM   #19
_Enio_
Marquis
 
_Enio_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,843
_Enio_ will become famous soon enough
Default

Just want to post an update on this issue.

For now we worked aound by getting the 32Bit version running on the 64Bit system.

However this is nothing a normal user will be getting right. Theres alot of dependencies you need to install in 32Bit. It involved starting the "game" binary without rolauncher to find out which 32Bit-libs were missing and resolving which ubuntu packages might contain it etc.

tl;dr: If there's no good reason to break compat with some of the older 64Bit CPU, i.e. some great improvements in performance for the newer, i think it would be worth getting this fixed (especially since RO might be played on older hardware in some parts of the world).
__________________
Fix the Marksman subclass: Suggestion
_Enio_ no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 10:20 AM   #20
Lebeau
Banned
 
Lebeau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: 'B-F-Egypt', Virginia, U.S.A. (please pity & forgive us poor american fools!).
Posts: 605
Lebeau is on a distinguished road
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Enio_ View Post
I did some debugging with Lebeau (kudos to your patience!)...
Not the hero here, at all, you are (kudos to YOUR patience!).

Lebeau no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
NGD Studios 2002-2016 © All rights reserved