English

Go Back   Champions of Regnum > English > Technical Support > Linux

Linux Technical issues under Linux platform

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2008, 07:38 AM   #1
onemyndseye
Master
 
onemyndseye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Central USA
Posts: 260
onemyndseye is on a distinguished road
Default Lag and Freezes? This MAY Help

Over the last few weeks Ive noticed RO's performance on my laptop to be decreasing dramatically. Overall FPS have reduced by 10 or more with periodic drops to 1-2fps in conditions where this really should not be the case...

So I started gathering info and logging performance data about my machine while RO is running and found that RO was consuming ALL of my 1gig of ram at most times and especially noted at times where my FPS dropped and/or the game froze. ... Memory leaks. We all knew they were there... now lets talk about how to fix.... errr HELP the problem with memory management.


A simple virtual memory tweaks may help RO's performance by allowing more data to be swapped and more ram to be made available to a ram hungry program like RO

Before running RO issue this simple command in a terminal window:
Quote:

sudo sysctl vm.swappiness=100

The default swappiness value may be found in /etc/sysctl.conf (atleast on Debian-like systems) which is usually 30.. and I must admit for day to day desktop use a lower value certainly make for a more responsive system. But for large applications that like their ram... setting a temp value of 100 can be a big help. It should also be noted that in systems with more that 1gig of ram this setting will likely have little effect.

Also.. In my post here I described how raising the priority of the RO binary increased performance... and it does. However with further testing I think some system's could benefit equally from LOWERING the priority.
It all depends on where your bottleneck is. You see a lower priority means more CPU power can be allocated to processing TCP/IP data for instance...

That being said... one may want to change the value in my script to a positive value... i.e. 15 or 20.. or renice the game binary by hand:

Quote:

renice -n 20 $(pidof game)


Hope this helps,
-One Mynds Eye
Srytis LVL50 Hunter: Elusis
onemyndseye no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 07:52 PM   #2
Znurre
Marquis
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: RA
Posts: 2,191
Znurre will become famous soon enoughZnurre will become famous soon enough
Thumbs up

Thank you!

Since I applied your fix, my game is running smoother than ever.
I do not experience any freeze lags until a certain point when I have played for several hours when it feels like running into a wall.
Suddenly everything is really laggy and I have to restart the client.

But it is still better than before, so you really earn some karma for this

PS. On openSUSE I had to use "su -c" instead of sudo, else I would get "command not found".
PS2. It seems like I already gave you too much karma lately, but just wait, your time will come
__________________
Winning a fight is not what makes you a good player, it's how you do it.
http://home.znur.re/screenshot%20201...2011_39_37.jpg
Znurre no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 08:41 PM   #3
Mikan
Baron
 
Mikan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In Nekoko's lap ;)
Posts: 854
Mikan has a spectacular aura aboutMikan has a spectacular aura about
Default

Even though I have 2GB of RAM, and Regnum (and other programs) doesn't usually use anything beyond 1GB of it unless I've been in some major war for some hours, I will still try this out anyway!

Thanks.
__________________
Hannah AmelieCatalina NevenaAlicia Godwyn
Alsius Horus ✝ No chance of victory, no chance of defeat ✝ Frozen Flame
Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean. An ocean of drama.
Mikan no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 04:11 AM   #4
onemyndseye
Master
 
onemyndseye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Central USA
Posts: 260
onemyndseye is on a distinguished road
Default

Znurre,

Glad my ramblings helped ya ... as to the "command not found" it sounds like you do not have the sudo package installed... trying installing it through Suse's package manager...

su will work just as well..... but sudo keeps you from having to use roots password... instead you use your own. Allows for privileged access to users without compromising root's passwd

Karma!! Thanks In addition, How about you switch to a rubber hammer next time we fight? :P You are one kickass barb


Katiechan - Yes, with 2gigs of RAM it probably will not help much....if at all. However - you may try going to the other extreme and setting swappiness to 0 with ' sudo sysctrl vm.swappiness=0 ' telling the system to not swap unless in extreme cases since writing to and from RAM is MUCH faster.

Take care,
-One Mynds Eye
Srytis LVL50 Hunter: Elusis
onemyndseye no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 11:47 AM   #5
Znurre
Marquis
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: RA
Posts: 2,191
Znurre will become famous soon enoughZnurre will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by onemyndseye
as to the "command not found" it sounds like you do not have the sudo package installed
I do have it installed.
I think it's rather something about the way it is configured as default in openSUSE.

The sysctl binary resides in /sbin in openSUSE, and because of that I cannot run it using sudo, if I don't use "sudo /sbin/sysctl" ofcourse.
__________________
Winning a fight is not what makes you a good player, it's how you do it.
http://home.znur.re/screenshot%20201...2011_39_37.jpg
Znurre no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 11:55 AM   #6
arlick
Duke
 
arlick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,893
arlick is a jewel in the rougharlick is a jewel in the rougharlick is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Znurre
I do have it installed.
I think it's rather something about the way it is configured as default in openSUSE.

The sysctl binary resides in /sbin in openSUSE, and because of that I cannot run it using sudo, if I don't use "sudo /sbin/sysctl" ofcourse.
you can add this to your .bashrc :P

PATH=/sbin/:/usr/sbin/:$PATH

its sometimes really helpfull.

then "sudo sysctl" should work.
__________________
"Nunca un científico ha quemado a un religioso por afirmar a Dios sin pruebas". Manuel Toharia
"uno empieza a darse cuenta que eso de no hacer ejercicio, comer y beber como si fuese la ultima cena y mantener la figura ya no existe...". Maryan
arlick no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
NGD Studios 2002-2013 © All rights reserved